Adios a la Ciudad de Los Angeles


If you look closely you can see a tiny Hollywood sign in the distance.

I reckoned I’d do my recollections in reverse as it’s kind of easier to piece together that way.

These pictures are from my last day in Los Angeles when, with a few hours to kill, I went on a 4 hour wander up and down the hills of the Silverlake district. It was an outrageously gorgeous sunny day, February 28th. (I thought the 28th was a good day to fly in a leap year as you essentially get the 29th to recover for free – a day out of time as it were.)

People diss on LA all the time but on my visits there in January and February of this year, I was mainly struck by how beautiful it is. In certain parts. Walking around Silverlake in what would be the dead of Winter in the UK, was like being in a Hawaiian botanical garden.

The abundance of lush, colourful vegetation was mind-blowing. I guess I took it for granted when I lived there!

Check out this enormous fluffy plant. It was taller than I am (about 5’8”).

Or this crazy cacti-cluster, many of which were to be found cascading down the hillsides.

I watched this little green bird (below) for a long time but I never could get a great picture of it. That’s because, as you can see, it kept stuffing its head inside this big pod from which it would yank out some chunks of what looked like cotton wool, which it would then hurl to the ground.

                   Even the junked cars were extremely beautiful.

And at the end of the walk, having only taken what could be spared, I was able to make a lush flower arrangement which I left in my friend’s kitchen by way of thanks. Being completely skint at the time, with barely enough cash to make it to Brighton once my plane landed, it was amazing to be able to produce this for free! I felt bad not being able to afford leaving a bottle of wine or something on the table but my friend really, really, really appreciated it. I think he thanked me about 5 times in different emails so I was well chuffed!

See you tomorrow!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Adios a la Ciudad de Los Angeles”

  1. paxus Says:

    Wonderful pictures. i had a similar experience in LA, where i really enjoyed it, except the air pollution. I doubt i would live there on an on-going way, but i would certainly do visits

    Paxus in Death City
    13 Not Here 2012

    • 66witches Says:

      I posed like I was ignoring your blogging advice but you will notice that by coincidence my very next post was both shorter and included more pictures! I think I lucked out with the air quality on this past visit, either that or I was just completely hypnotized by the sun into not caring what air-borne adulterants I was inhaling. LA appealed to me way more than SF on this trip. I felt nearly traitorous but…it really did!

  2. ramadan 2013 usa Says:

    You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web.

    I am going to highly recommend this website!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 724 other followers

